Thursday, January 30, 2014

Kor Royal Cup 2014 (Buriram Utd v Muangthong Utd)

The Kor Royal Cup final this Saturday gives the two powerhouses of Thai football their first opportunity to flex their muscles for the 2014 season. Treble winners and current Kor Royal Cup holders Buriram United face TPL runners up Muangthong United at the Suphanburi Stadium.
It's a re-run of the 2013 fixture which Buriram won thanks to two goals from debutant Ramses Bustos - remember him?

It's been a fairly quiet off season over at the Thunder Castle. Nevertheless, Buriram were dealt a blow when their linchpin at the back, Osmar Ibanez, departed for FC Seoul. Fortunately for the treble holders nobody else of note has left the squad. Former Deportivo la Coruna centre back David Rochela will fill the boots vacated by star man Osmar. Also joining Buriram are the Argentinian duo of Leandro Torres and Leonel Altobelli, and Englishman Jay Simpson who is best remembered as a promising youngster at Arsenal.

Opponents Muangthong will want to eradicate any memory of the 2013 season and will be hoping to recapture the form which saw them romp to the 2012 title.
The main talking points over the new year period were the arrivals of two Englishmen in Nonthaburi. First to enter the fray was new coach Scott Cooper. His appointment to Muangthong will add some spice to this contest as Cooper coached Buriram for 29 games in 2013. Despite only losing once in that period, friction between himself and the club owner meant that he parted ways with Buriram United. The other noticeable arrival to Muangthong was once capped Englishman Jay Bothroyd. He's played for a host of clubs in England but his most productive spell was probably in Wales with Cardiff City.
Meanwhile, Teerasil still remains at Muangthong despite ongoing speculation linking him with a move to Spain. Keeper Kawin has been back in the treatment room after briefly returning for the SEA games while elder statesmen such as Panupong and Pichitpong have been shipped out allowing younger blood to replace them.

With both sides clear favorites to be battling it out for the 2014 crown, the winner of this opener will claim the first bragging rights of the season.

Friday, January 24, 2014

Toyota League Cup Qualifiers

26 regional league sides will join the TPL and Division 1 sides in the round of 64.

Here is a list of the draw:


Samut Prakan Utd/Thai Honda v Kasem Bundit
Chamchuri Utd/ Customs Utd v Rayong Utd
Raj Vithi/RBAC v Rangsit Uni

Central West

Rajapruek College/Luktapfah v Petchaburi
Raj Pracha/Hua Hin v Samut Sakorn
Singburi v Globex
Nonthaburi v Thonburi City
Seeker FC v Muangkan Utd

Central East

Prachinburi Utd/Kabin City v Sa Kaeo City
TG Rayong/Pathum Thani Utd v Nakhon Nayok
Rayong FC v Samut Prakan FC
Chachoengsao v Phan Thong
Mapthaput Marine v Luk Esan


Pattani/Satun Utd v Ranong
Nakhon Si Heritage v Phatthalung
Prachuap/Phang Nga v Trang


Nakhon Sawan/Phayao v Chiang Rai City
Khamphaeng Phet/Sukhothai v Lamphun Warrior
Nan/Lampang v Phrae Utd
Uttaradit v Phichit


Nong Bua Lamphu/ Amnan Charoen Town v Ubon Ratchasima
Nong Khai v Maha Sarakham Utd
Loei City/Surin v Kalasin


Sakon Nakhon/Udon Thani v Tak/Petchabun
BCC Tero/Rangsit FC v Chantaburi/Thai Fleet
Hat Yai/Surat v JW Bangkok/Krung Thonburi

11 regional leagues side did not enter the competition.

Ties to be played on the first two weekends in February.

Monday, January 13, 2014

Regional League Roll Call 2014

The 82 team regional league will have 6 divisions again. All will have 14 teams except the South and Central West which will have one less with 13.
Below are the listed teams for each region:


BCC Tero, Chamchuri Utd, Thai Honda, Rangsit FC, North Bangkok, Paknampo NSRU, Kasem Bundit, Raj Vithi Salaya, Customs Utd, Samut Prakan Utd, Assumption Utd, R-BAC, Rangsit University, Rayong Utd

Central West

Krung Thonburi, Luk Tapfah Pathum Thani, Globex TWD, Petchaburi, Futera Seeker, Muangkan Utd, Raj Pracha, Samut Sakhon, Singburi, Hua Hin City, Nonthaburi, JW-BU, Rajapruek College

Edit: The line up also includes Thonburi City

Central East

Kabin Utd, Thai Fleet, Chantaburi, Chachoengsao, Nakhon Nayok, Pathum Thani MWA Utd, Prachinburi Utd, Phan Thong, Maptaphut Marine, Thai Airways Luk Esan, Samut Prakan FC, TG Rayong, Sa Kaeo City, Rayong FC


Trang, Pattani, Nara Utd, Phang Nga Mitraphap, Satun Utd, Chumpon, Nakhon Si Heritage, Phatthalung, Ranong, Surat FC, Yala, Hat Yai, Prachuap


Nakhon Sawan, Phrae Utd, Kampheang Phet, Uttaradit, Phichit, Lamphun Warriors, Uthai Thani Forest, Phayao, Nan, Lampang, Sukhothai, Petchabun, Chiang Rai City, Tak,


Sisaket Utd, Udon Thani, Loei City, Nakhon Phanom, Nong Khai, Amnan Charoen Town, Kalasin, Chaiyaphum, Nong Bua Lamphu, Surin City, Sakon Nakhon Muangthai, Mukdahan City, Ubon Utd, Mahasarakham Utd